Scrapbooking | DIY (shop) therapy

DSCF7737

Today I needed a trip to the DIY shop and while I was there, I took myself for a cuppa in their cafe (any excuse for a brew!)

And as I sat at my table by the window (overlooking the carpark, you understand – we’re not talking glamorous locations) I felt the need to get my thoughts down on paper, as I so regularly do these days.

DSCF7739

And so I opened my dinky little planner and wrote, “Worries right now: attn. God,” at the top.

And I sat and wrote down everything that is currently on my mind.

And each time I paused in my writing, I waited to see if there was more. And rather like when you’re bent over the loo with food poisoning (sorry), more concerns kept surfacing as I gave them the chance to.

DSCF7741

At the end, I drew a dashed line under my worries and waited – giving God the chance to speak.

And as I drained my tea, I sensed the word, “rest” come to me. Followed by “trust” and “be in the now.” And I remembered (part of!) the Bible verse,

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” (James 1:17)

DSCF7742

When I got home, I popped the page into a glassine bag (torn, of course) and stapled it to a pretty page I’d been playing with that morning.

DSCF7745

What is awesome is that I genuinely feel lighter now: my concerns are still my concerns, but now I’ve shared them with God, I know that they’re His concerns too.

And you know what? He’s got this.

DSCF7746

One thought on “Scrapbooking | DIY (shop) therapy

  1. annaf says:

    *sigh* Your handwriting is so pretty.

    One of my favourite verses is from Ezekiel 3:16 – The spirit lifted me up and took me away. I went in bitterness and turmoil, but the Lord’s hand on me was strong. It’s not a you-shouldn’t-feel-that-way verse, but it’s a reminder that no matter how awful I’m feeling, God’s got my back.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.